Photos Gangsta Style

I have finally gotten around to showing you my photo “studio”. It’s quite…um, shall we say “improvised”? Or ghetto. You pick.

Image

Featuring what is the unofficial, yet universal, shelving unit for people who love yarn everywhere, the “studio” consists of the following:

(1) Two-tier Expedit shelving unit from Ikea

(1) Northern-light facing window, mostly clean

(1) US$4 clamp from the hardware store

Image

(1) piece of Bristol board (or you can use the non-shiny side of a piece of poster board) that is about 24″ x 36″, or just bigger than what you are photographing. Just make sure it is much bigger than the object so you don’t have to constantly crop the edges out.

(1) side of a box covered in aluminum foil (or, aluminium foil if you are from across the pond)

Image

That is all. Really. Make sure the light is indirect (otherwise your colors will be washed out). And where do I store this stuff? Why, right behind the bookshelf up against the wall. Easy peasy.

I know a lot of you have trouble getting the camera to see what you see, so I created a Pinterest page for Skeinny Dipping (yay!) that has a bunch of fun boards but one of them is solely for photography–whether you have a DSLR or an iPhone/iPad, there will be some tips there for you.

I still have trouble getting the camera to see what I see so don’t feel like good photography is out of your reach. It takes practice! I am from the old school world of photography where you had to load your film by hand into the processing container (and do this in complete and total darkness). For me the jump from that to digital has been trying at times, but hopefully you can learn from some of the tutorials I put together. If you have any questions, you can either ask them here or over at the Skeinny Dippers group :)

Ciao!

2 responses to “Photos Gangsta Style

  1. Hi Christine – great post! I’ve tried similar combinations to get the right lighting and still struggle with getting exactly what I want – lol. I got an error message when I clicked on your pinterest page, but I think I found it under ‘boards’ from your main page. Thanks for this! Hugs, christina | AlohaBlu

    • Hi, Christina,
      Thanks for your message! I’ve seen your shop and you do a great job taking photos. Thanks for letting me know about the link :)

      Cheers,
      Christine

Leave a Reply

