WIPS: It’s more than just for yarn

I used to be a monogamous reader–one book at a time, even though I could turn the last page on one and open the cover of another in the same breath. I used to keep a list in my journal of all the books I’ve read–in Peace Corps alone it was 200+ books. Now I have somehow collected books-in-progress like my knitted works-in-progress.

ImageThis is what my bedside table looks like right now. Yeah, four books and one magazine. This doesn’t include my Audible book that I listen to when I am dyeing or rewinding skeins.

Starting from the top: Ari Shavit’s My Promised Land: The Triumph and Tragedy of Israel. Not exactly relaxing reading, I know, but I was lucky enough to be able to take a class in graduate school on the Arab-Israeli conflict. Since then I really do try to read as much as possible about it.

Next is in my Kindle, Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch. Pretty sure this was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize last year, and who can resist her books anyway? If you haven’t read The Secret History yet you’re really missing out.

The third book I purchased from the local bookshop at Harvard Square (which I vow to do more of this year): Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale For The Time Being. If I had waited one month it would have been in paperback, and thus more portable in my purse.

Next is Natural Knits for Babies and Moms by Louisa Harding. I saw this FO of the OZ Vest and knew I had to make one for my newest nephew.

Finally, it’s the woolen edition of Ply Magazine. If you are a spinner of any level and aren’t subscribing to this, you’re out of your effing mind. This magazine is da bomb. Waay better than the other one out there (you know what I’m talking about here). Usually you’re lucky to get one good pattern and one good article per edition of a magazine–this one is FULL of goodies. They pay their staff and contributors a fair wage and keep the advertising to a minimum. Basically it’s your dream magazine of spinning. I even got a subscription for a friend for xmas!

But there has been knitting, too. This is the Lama Rama cowl by Justyna Lorkowska. I’ve long wanted to make this. I took some n-plied batts that I spun up from the Enchanted Knoll Farm Happy Hooves Batt Club and paired it with some worsted weight Knit Picks Swish I had in the stash. Boom, this thing is done and it’s cozy. I was going to keep it for me but once I looked at it I knew who it would go to in the end. It’s rapid-blocking on the radiator (pardon the crap iPhone photo).

Image

Then there is my attempt to get better at stranded knitting: the Caller Herrin’ hat by the ever lovely Kate Davies. I got some Alice Starmore yarn from Virtual Yarns in the UK, basing my color choices on this version. I’ve already frogged the body twice–once for using the wrong color, and once to switch to US 4 (!!) for the body seeing as I knit stranded stuff with a death grip. It’s very slow going but that’s ok: process, not progress. Actually, if I start rewarding my progress with donuts I might get there quicker!

While we were out in Santa Fe visiting family, I picked up some Isager Strik Alpaca I to knit a mindless thing. My late knitterly sister, who used to live there (both in Santa Fe and in the yarn shop) would have wanted me to buy yarn while we there. It was just the right thing to do. It will take a long time but this is mindless knitting at its best, people.

Image

So that catches you up on me! What are you reading and knitting?

One response to “WIPS: It’s more than just for yarn

  1. love the cowl – can’t wait to se it in person. you should do more book recommendations. I trust your judgement and am easily overwhelmed by either the library or the bookstore

Leave a Reply

