Update Tomorrow

Tomorrow there will be a shop update by 3pm Eastern time here in the US. I’ve dyed up some more of the Milky Wool in a blue shade called “Bandanna”, some in “Vervet”, along with a few special ooak skeins. Plus I will introduce a new base, Half and Half Sport. This is a plied blend of 50% Merino Wool and 50% Silk that has a put up of 360 yards per 115 grams. The first color I’m introducing is “Vervet.”

Milky Wool in Vervet

Before I started dyeing my own yarns I wondered where dyers got their colorway names from. I have to tell you that coming up with the name is probably the hardest part. Sometimes if I have an image in mind I already have the name. Take Vervet for instance. My village in Kenya was nearly overrun with Vervet Monkeys—they were everywhere. Sometimes they would steal food out of your house if you left your window open. Now, I have to tell you I have a bit of a twisted sense of humor (my husband would say that I’m like a 12-year old preteen, lol). This is where I got the colorway idea for Vervet:

A weird way to be inspired

My fellow Returned Peace Corps Volunteer (RPCV) colleague who is currently working in Tanzania sent all of us some pictures and the vervet monkey you see here was one of the pictures I received. Let me tell you that many of us tried in vain for two years to get a picture of the “jewels” that is this good.

See you tomorrow at the shop!

2 responses to “Update Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

