A Short Break

After an unexpected death in my family I have been reluctant to dye. I’m not sure why. Last Sunday, my sister Asuncion passed away peacefully from stage four breast cancer. It was unexpected in that I guess I never fully admitted myself to think of her cancer as a finality. The last week has been much of a fog with plans to go out west for her memorial service, looking for old family pictures, and plain old dread. So I hope I have your understanding that the shop will be closed for a few days as I put all of my energies towards this. I hope to reopen sometime this weekend with some new colors and a sale 🙂

I leave you with a picture of my sister and I, taken when I was about four years old. This is how I remember her best.

Asun and I

10 responses to “A Short Break

  1. Dear Christine,

    My heartfelt condolences to you and your family. I sympathise particularly since my mother has Stage IV breast cancer. My prayers are with you.

    Hugs,

    Susan

  2. My deepest sympathy and sincere condolences. I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your sister.
    I will keep you in my prayers.

  3. Christine, I’m so sorry for your loss. Always remember the good times you shared and the times you talked together. She knew you loved her very much. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  4. So sorry to hear about your sister. The dyeing will come back when you’re ready…but it’s important to take the time you need. Take care!

  5. Oh Christine. . . . I am just reading this now, and am so sorry for the heartache this has caused you! The picture is lovely, and your sister is gorgeous. I hope your happy memories of her will stay with you always.

    Love Kim

Leave a Reply

