See, there has been knitting in all this absence

There has been a lot of gift knitting lately–let’s have a look, shall we?

Little Oak by Alana Dakos

Our friend’s little girl turned one on election day and besides getting Obama for a second term she also got another handknit sweater from Auntie Christine. This is Little Oak by Alana Dakos over at Never Not Knitting in Madelinetosh Sport in colorway Sequoia. When I saw Alana’s little girl in this same cardi knit in the same colorway I just had to make the same one. It turned out beautifully (if I do say so myself!) and the parents were really impressed. The pattern was so easy to knit, so fun, and clear that I was a bit sad when I finished it and gave it away.

Little Oak is ravelled here.

 

Dustland Hat by Stephen West

Then there is Dustland Hat by Stephen West in The Woolen Rabbit WW Opal colorway Olive Tweed. This color is unreal. Unreal!! I emailed Kim, the owner, and told her of my plans to make this hat for one of my nephews for his 16th birthday and she sent a skein to me toot sweet. Stephen’s pattern, like all of his patterns, is easy to follow and gives you a gorgeous FO at the end of it. He is also so sweet–I met him finally at Rhinebeck this year. I get all unintelligible when I meet knitting celebs so hopefully my rattling on of complete nonsense didn’t faze him.

Dustland Hat is ravelled here.

There’s another hat (different nephew, same household): Fjord by Jenny Gordy. This is the second one of these that I’ve made–the first I used some handspun from my stash. The one you see here is Malabrigo Rios in colorway Playa. Get the details here.

 

Then Dani of Lioness Arts asked me to do a test knit for her Dry Stone Mitts. I love the Dry Stone cowl that I made with my Journey Worsted so I was quite happy to cast on for some mitts. I made the small size in colorway Darkest Hearth but used worsted weight to get a tight gauge for air-blocking purposes and they turned out perfect. And they only took two days to make, so these would be perfect for gift knitting. I’m currently dyeing up some more Journey Worsted for the shop–won’t you think of making a pair of these sweet mitts for the holidays? We won’t blame you for wanting to keep the pair for yourself (it’ll be our little secret).

 

Dry Stone Mitts by Dani Sunshine

Dry Stone Mitts is ravelled here.
There are also a few knits currently OTN:

  • Brownstone by Jared Flood, ravelled here. This will (hopefully) be for Christmas this year. I’m using Stonehedge Fiber Mill’s Shepherd’s Worsted in colorway Denim. This is one of my favorite yarns. I couldn’t stop going on and on about the sweater I made myself with it  earlier this year so he was happy to let me knit him a pullover in the same wool.
  • Boneyard Shawl by Stephen West (again). This shawl has been in the queue forever but I finally CO when I got some Green Mountain Spinnery Simply Fine at Rhinebeck this year. I don’t like mohair but for some reason this skein feels marvelous with it in there. This is my brainless knitting–just pure enjoyment.
  • Then there is Spirograph by Anna Elliott. I saw this pattern on Kate Davies’s blog (don’t you just love her?) and decided I had to make one, too. Now if I could only pick a yarn…

What have you been knitting?

 

 

Leave a Reply

