While I’ve Been “Away”

I’ve been enjoying the recent rest vacation and will be dyeing again soon (yay!). Even in a vacation you know some knitting and spinning has been taking place.
I knit up a hat for my niece, Marisa. This is The Bubble Hat by Vridd Vrang, which I made out of some Polwarth/Silk that I spun from Three Waters Farm in North Carolina. The colorway is Radicchio.

Yum, handspun

Yum, handspun

This is a really nice pattern for handspun! The “bubbles” create enough interest and doesn’t get lost with the color variations. I have a feeling I’ll be knitting more of these for next winter.

Next up is Gathering Stripes by Veera Valimaki. The idea here is to use up some stash in making a toddler sweater for a friend. I got the gray from the Schoppel Wolle factory in Germany, and the Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in colorway Nutmeg is from Yarns in the Farms in nearby Beverly, Massachusetts. The body is all done, it’s just the sleeves to do.

Stashbusting pullover

Stashbusting pullover

I’ve been spinning a lot. Obsessively so. Who knew it could be so relaxing? I joined the Enchanted Knoll Farm Happy Hooves Batt Club at the end of last year and I am loving it. I picked up one of her batts at Fiber Revival in Newburyport last summer and just died. Such wonderful, easy spinning. This month’s installment was colorway “Hearts Afire” and was two 2oz batts of corriedale, cashmere, glitzy stuff, and some other bits I can’t remember. I spun it up into a two-ply fingering weight and got 426 yards out of 115 grams on my Minstrel. These will be made into socks as soon as my current ones OTN (on the needles for you non-knitterly types) are finished.

Once you go batt, you never go back.

Once you go batt, you never go back.

There’s lots of other stuff to show you as well, but with this winter we’ve been having here there hasn’t been enough light to take pictures. I have to admit I am dreading Spring (I am not a warm weather person anymore) and the denial of the end of Winter has been so bad that I can’t let go of sweater patterns. I knit Space Girl, then frogged it because I was sooo relaxed that my gauge went off by half a stitch. Should I recast-on for this, but in a smaller size? (I really should be thinking of light shawls and a cardi like Featherweight Cardigan instead but I want winter to stay). I don’t know what to do. Ambivalence in the next WIP (work in progress for you non-knitterlies) choice is where spinning happily takes its place. Off to choose some braids to spin….

 

3 responses to “While I’ve Been “Away”

  1. Maybe we should start a mini KAL on Featherweight? I have plans on knitting one in yellow (I know, shocking!) as chances for Vegas increased highly as of yesterday.

  2. I’m so happy that you’re planning to dye again! I just received Etsy notification about tomorrow’s update, and I’m just waiting for it.. About spinning, I really would like to learn to spin, I bought a drop spindle some times ago, but I still have to go into the braids I’ve bought.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

