Miscellaneous, and some new colors and a new base!

I tell you nothing gets me more excited than Fall. Between the leaves changing and fiber festivals, I want to knit and dye all the things. We (meaning me, the mister, and Gracie) recently returned from a quick trip to Switzerland and Germany. This was our tenth anniversary trip to ourselves, and we got to visit our old neighbors and friends in Heidelberg as well as catch up with some of our closest friends, Jan and Siga (aka juicyknits). There was lots and lots of knitting (as you can imagine), and even a trip to the Schoppel Wolle factory in Waldhausen! A girl cannot restrain herself from Zauberball 6-Staerke! This will be for the man.

Image

When we weren’t knitting we were eating. And eating. Lets just say the plane seat felt smaller on the way back.

I had the most difficult time with the jet lag coming back home, which is very opposite for me. Normally I have the hardest time going east, and the easiest time flying west. Now that I’m back to normal and fully caffeinated I got back to the dyepots. There’s a new base at SD and I hope you will love it as much as I do! It’s called Squoosh Aran, and it’s a worsted/aran weight in an 80/10/10 merino/cashmere/nylon blend. It takes the dye beautifully and it’s really soft. It comes in skeins of 200 yds (182 m) and goes for $29/skein. I posted some yesterday in the shop and they went pretty fast, so keep your eyes peeled for more this weekend.  You can currently get Treacle, and there are two new colors up as well: Budgie and Girl on Fire.

Image

Image

Image

Next week I’ll be dyeing up the sock weight version of this base. And I have a surprise for you as well: Skeinny Dipping will soon offer hand dyed spinning fiber 🙂 First up will be a 50/50 merino/silk top!

 

Leave a Reply

