Holla Knits: Hawt Sands by Teresa Gregorio

 

 

hawtthree

I was so thrilled when Allyson over at Holla Knits asked if I would like to participate in the Spring/Summer 2014 collection. I knew it would be a top, and we wanted different colors from the neutral-y palette that was used in the first sample. I wish I could wear neutrals, or any light colors for that matter, but I’m just so pale (and I mean glow in the dark pale). After many mini sample skeins I came up with three that I knew had to be together: Evacuation Day, Smoke Blush, and Tangerine (photo from the Holla Knits blog).

Image

From left to right: Evacuation Day, Smoke Blush, Tangerine in Cashmerino DK

When we were collaborating on this project and color scheme we were still very much in Winter mode here in Boston. I had to have green. Evacuation Day (top left) is kind of the unofficial start of Spring here. I love how cute it looks in the seahorse on the Hawt Sands top!

hawtone

 

 

 

 

 

Next was the main color Smoke Blush. There is a bush I see every morning during my walk with Gracie, and depending on the time of year the leaves are a different color. Deep reddish purples tend to work well for us pale folks! I especially love the seed stitch hems on the sleeves.

Image

Image

Gratuitous dog photo: Gracie is in charge of protecting yarn from the mailman

The last color I named Tangerine in honor of the Lunar New Year. This color has set me on an orange colorway binge and I want it in all.the.things. Everyone needs more orange in their lives, so if you’re scared a little bit around the waist is a perfect way to test the waters!

ImageImageImage

In May I will be having a pre-order event over at the SkeinnyDippers! group on Ravelry so you can order some Cashmerino DK for your very own Hawt Sands top. You can create any combo you like from my repeatables page here or here. What color combination would you create? Leave your three choices in a comment below by Monday, April 14 at noon eastern time and the random number generator will pick someone to win a free copy of the Hawt Sands pattern (Rav link). Be sure to leave your email address!

For more Skeinny Dipping news follow @skeinnydipping at Twitter. You can also find me at Facebook and Etsy.

Enjoy!

Stay tuned for the next stop on the Holla Knits blog tour:

April 11: Kirsten Singer

April 15: Canary Knits

April 16: Baah Yarns

April 17: Knitter’s Pride Blog

April 18: DovieJay Knits

April 22: Mari Knits

April 23: Magical Grammar

April 24: Knit York City

April 25: Under the Red Umbrella

One response to “Holla Knits: Hawt Sands by Teresa Gregorio

Leave a Reply

