A Shawl to get you through a Buttload of Snow

In this post: lots of snow and a shawl I could not live without in this mess.

This is what a buttload of snow looks like (in case you were wondering how to quantify that).

Snow up to the window on our mudroom door.

Snow up to the window on our mudroom door.

Here in New England we are used to snow. Lots of it. This is why we have so many fiber festivals! But really, I never imagined we would not be able to get out of the house without the husband shoveling our way out first. Our mudroom door opens out, so lets just say we won’t be using that entrance till Spring.

Last night hubs was on a ladder raking snow off of the roof. I did not know this was even a thing people did, or that there was a such thing as a snow rake.

There have been a few pieces of knitted wonderfulness that I have been repeatedly using to get through all of this. The first one I will show you I originally knit for a booth sample, but I wear it now (it’s that awesome).

Lulu by Anthony Casalena

LuluOne

LuLu by Anthony Casalena

I used one skein of each color in a fingering weight yarn. Pictured here is my MCS Luxe in Overcast and Smudge. This would work with Merino Single, Mericash Fingering or Cannonball Sock, too.

This is the perfect all-season shawl. In the winter you can wrap it around your neck twice and tie the ends together, or in the summer drape it over your shoulders when you’re in the air conditioning.

To wrap it around twice, start like this.

To wrap it around twice, start like this.

Mine didn’t take even a week to knit!

Tie those little ends together or leave them loose.

Tie those little ends together or leave them loose.

So when I saw that Anthony is releasing a new pattern at Stitches West called Baridee I got excited. It’s not out yet, but soon (real soon, I hope). In the meantime, you can check out his other equally gorgeous patterns here.

Leave a Reply

